Sonic Commercial – Cheap Date

I know they’re nothing new, but I’m a big fan of all of the Sonic Drive-In commercials.  I’ve been meaning to write about them since I started this blog, and after seeing one of the commercials during The Report last night, I realized that I had yet to do so.  In case you haven’t seen any of the ads, here’s the one I saw last night (which also happens to be my favorite):

All of the ads in the campaign are improvised, and the actors (improv artists Peter Grosz and T.J. Jagodowski) do a great job of creating hilarious dialog while also keeping the focus on the products.  As I mentioned in my last post on Volkswagon, product and brand recall is an important, and often missed, element of advertising.  It’s good to see another company pull it off so well in such a funny campaign.  Plus, the timing on the text “smack” is always dead-on.

Let me know what you think of the ads in the comment section below!

(Thanks to AdAge for additional info on this campaign)

Feel free to tweet, link to, or otherwise share this post:
Check out the “Sonic Commercial – Cheap Date” post on Adam’s Advertising Blog: http://wp.me/pNbki-1a